Skip to content
Lincoln Counts — Lincoln, in numbers.Local help →

Lincoln · England

People and living standards

Lincoln council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Lincoln

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Lincoln local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 84,016 in 1991 to 103,351 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Lincoln council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 84,022 people in 1996; 103,351 people in 2025. 23% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Lincoln council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199184,016
199285,116
199385,271
199484,583
199584,518
199684,022
199784,027
199883,920
199984,662
200085,032
200185,584
200285,669
200386,405
200487,746
200588,603
200689,433
200789,873
200890,207
200990,813
201092,188
201193,085
201295,501
201397,452
201498,482
201599,442
2016100,679
2017102,241
2018103,212
2019103,604
2020103,531
2021102,411
2022103,165
2023104,303
2024104,939
2025103,351
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Lincoln council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,687 people in 1996; 16,280 people in 2025. 8% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Lincoln council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,386
199217,610
199317,776
199417,825
199517,824
199617,687
199717,679
199817,575
199917,475
200017,262
200117,141
200216,620
200316,234
200415,814
200515,392
200615,298
200715,177
200815,306
200915,326
201015,351
201115,372
201215,627
201315,980
201415,987
201516,274
201616,538
201716,786
201816,935
201916,945
202016,889
202116,653
202216,664
202316,680
202416,573
202516,280
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Lincoln council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 52,723 people in 1996; 70,900 people in 2025. 34.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Lincoln council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199152,926
199253,777
199353,771
199453,080
199553,015
199652,723
199752,811
199852,929
199953,957
200054,545
200155,256
200255,907
200357,061
200458,940
200560,208
200661,173
200761,833
200861,923
200962,443
201063,637
201164,318
201266,165
201367,483
201468,323
201568,876
201669,717
201770,816
201871,475
201971,689
202071,642
202170,604
202271,057
202372,044
202472,423
202570,900
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Lincoln council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 13,612 people in 1996; 16,171 people in 2025. 18.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Lincoln council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199113,704
199213,729
199313,724
199413,678
199513,679
199613,612
199713,537
199813,416
199913,230
200013,225
200113,187
200213,142
200313,110
200412,992
200513,003
200612,962
200712,863
200812,978
200913,044
201013,200
201113,395
201213,709
201313,989
201414,172
201514,292
201614,424
201714,639
201814,802
201914,970
202015,000
202115,154
202215,444
202315,579
202415,943
202516,171
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 103,814 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Lincoln · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh3,3473.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,4661.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,0682%
White95,66592.2%
Other ethnic group1,2681.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 93,541 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Lincoln · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White89,37995.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,2301.3%
Asian/Asian British1,7941.9%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British7780.8%
Other ethnic group3600.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 85,595 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Lincoln · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White83,71197.8%
Mixed6010.7%
Asian/Asian British6080.7%
Black/Black British2330.3%
Chinese/Other4420.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 27.9% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Lincoln council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £7,939 per person in 1997; £18,723 per person in 2024. 135.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Lincoln council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19977,939
19988,162
19998,493
20008,760
20019,211
20029,673
200310,121
200410,440
200510,775
200611,045
200711,637
200811,908
200912,504
201012,449
201112,815
201213,099
201313,102
201413,433
201513,720
201613,845
201714,079
201814,443
201915,043
202015,230
202115,787
202216,716
202317,636
202418,723
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Lincoln council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -25.2% in 1997; -27.9% in 2024. 2.7 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Lincoln council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-25.2
1998-24.6
1999-24.9
2000-26.4
2001-25.5
2002-23.5
2003-22.4
2004-23.1
2005-23.4
2006-24.6
2007-24.2
2008-24.4
2009-21.9
2010-22.9
2011-21.4
2012-22.4
2013-25.2
2014-25.7
2015-27.9
2016-28.1
2017-28.5
2018-29.2
2019-28.6
2020-27.4
2021-27.7
2022-27.2
2023-27.9
2024-27.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

20.4%

21 March 2021 · Lincoln local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

17.4%

21 March 2021 · Lincoln local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.5%

21 March 2021 · Lincoln local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£187,000

July 2026 · Lincoln local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£942

August 2026 · Lincoln local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.